In My Next Life, I Will Be a Construction Worker

Another one!

I just got an email from a close friend and colleague announcing her pregnancy.  I thank her for her tact.  She knew that it was a really sensitive topic and she didn’t want me to hear from someone else.  It’s still hard.  I still spent my morning blubbering.  I’m lucky to have friends to blubber to, having a good cry helps to get it all out of my system.

I say “another one” because this is going to be the 5th pregnant colleague that I will be working with next year.  FIVE pregnant ladies in one building…and that’s just the ones I know about!  This doesn’t include those who just had their babies that will be parading them around the school for a visit this fall.  (I’m really going to have to work on my “pleasant” face and buy plugs for my tear ducts).

In the spirit of gender stereotyping, THIS is why I want to be a construction worker in my next life rather than a teacher.  I love my job but how many construction workers out there right now have FIVE pregnant colleagues?  My guess is very few.

Being a teacher, I work with almost all women (we only have 3 men on staff).  This makes avoiding pregnant ladies VERY difficult.

I’ve got a good team to lean on.  I’ll try to be strong but in reality, I’m just ready for it to be my turn.

“Back to School” is next week.  The ads on TV continue to remind me.  This year, much like last year I have so much more to anticipate (dread) than getting back to my morning routine and meeting a new crop of students.  Once again, I have to prepare myself to watch  bellies of my co-workers grow full of life.  Once again I need to put away the speech that I prepared to tell my students and parents the exciting reason that I won’t be with them for the whole year.

No Staples…it’s not the “most wonderful time of the year”.

4 thoughts on “In My Next Life, I Will Be a Construction Worker

  1. Don’t hesitate to skip the baby showers at work. Hide in a closet if you need to. Put your feelings first no matter what.

  2. Thank you for writing this blog. It is hard to find a blogger these days who isn’t trying to be a “brand” etc. Thank you for being honest and for your clear writing. Your story has coaxed me over closer to the adoption side. Wishing you the best.

  3. Pingback: The Other New Year’s Eve | you can't choose when

Leave a Reply

