Warm and fuzzy

Being a teacher, preparing for retrieval (and hopefully a transfer and a tww) has kept me very busy. I had to leave enough plans to potentially be home until the Christmas holiday- or maybe just for a week. I had to find a replacement teacher who was willing to replace me for either one week or 2 or maybe even 4…
I also had to consider explaining my absence. I have no obligation to explain my absence. If I’m gone more than a week, a standard note goes home with the students explaining that “due to medical circumstances the teacher will be absent for an undetermined amount of time”. The only problem with this note is that parents and students always jump to the conclusion that the teacher is dying!
I decided to speak to a couple of the parents, ones I know well and have taught their other children in previous years – parents who knew me and were supportive when I had to take time off for miscarriages and D&Cs.
One of these parents, who had gone through fertility treatments herself, saw me off on Thursday with a care package.
She gave me a warm pair of socks with owls on them and a magazine. This really warmed my heart. I got my socks! After convincing myself that it was silly to buy lucky IVF socks, here they were. It was an amazing gesture and a concrete example that people care and understand. I hope they work!!!!

20131119-161632.jpg

20131119-161703.jpg

20131119-161720.jpg

6 thoughts on “Warm and fuzzy

  1. It’s too bad we feel we shouldn’t be more vocal about the process and hide it all (an anonymous WP handle in my case). This is a time when we need support and I’ve found those whom we’ve shared with usually seem to offer it. Good luck with everything!

    • Thanks! I’m “out” with most people. Not all of them know that the pain is every day. Work is tricky. I got a lot of supports but also some complaints when I was off for my miscarriage/d&c… I should have been there to care for their precious babies instead of worrying about my own life and health. I try not to let it get to me.

Leave a Reply

